The Struggles of Talented People

The next time you sit to enjoy a short film, home-grown movie or documentary, bear in mind that the artists, producers, camera operators, roadies, truck drivers, directors and all involved have made great sacrifices to bring the work to your screen.

In Canada funding is very hard to obtain and when it is received it is often not any where’s near enough to complete the project. Many of these film makers have to go into enormous debt – both personal and commercial, to get there work onto film. Many depend on people like us for support and loyalty.

If you are similar to me, then you are sure to agree that when looking for entertainment you would prefer to watch a well put together short film or a documentary or a full length film that stimulates your mind and senses. Not just entertains your brain with mindless action and love scenes.

I find that most “block buster” movies are successful because some one had millions of dollars to assure they reach that status. This goes back to that age old saying, “Money talks and bullturds walk”. Sad, isn’t it?

I would rather spend money at the Beaches Theater or ‘The Hot Docs’ Festival, then give it to a conglomerate of money minded Richie Rich’s.

SO, THE NEXT TIME YOU GO TO A BIG THEATER DO A LITTLE FAVOR FOR YOURSELF AND THE INDIE FILM MAKERS AND INSTEAD OF BUYING $20 DOLLARS WORTH OF TREATS TO NIBBLE ON – BUY $10 AND DONATE THE OTHER $10 DOLLARS TO A LOCAL STRUGGLING ARTIST.

CHECK OUT SITES LIKE “http://www.indiegogo.com/” AND SUPPORT WHATEVER, WHOEVER YOU BELIEVE CAN BRING A GOOD STORY TO THE SCREEN.

Here are a couple of my favorites:

http://www.wildspiritfilms.ca/

http://www.hotdocs.ca/docignite/project/30Ghosts

I thank you for taking the time to read my rants and raves ….. until next time – I remain, Dann, just as I am!!!   Namaste’

2 thoughts on “The Struggles of Talented People”

  1. Thank you for your input and I understand what you are saying. Usually I am far more elaborate with my posts. I have many other more detailed posts in this blog and also at my other locations. Thanks again for the input and I will be writing a more detailed version.

    Like

Leave a Reply

