ARCHITECTURAL RAPE

http://www.cbc.ca/beta/news/canada/new-brunswick/synagogue-saint-john-surplus-demolish-1.3751583


Here is a magnificent structure that has withstood 145 years of East Coast  weather. Almost a century and a half of usage. 

A supreme icon of architectural beauty.  Of beauty composed by craftsmen, hand chiseled and built by primitive means compared to modern day abilities. 

This GORGEOUS building would (could) very well stand for hundreds of years more.

Why destroy such a building?

To have it replaced by what – a box comprised of pressboard encased drywall held together by thin alloy studs? To replace thls beauty to make way for some shabby rectangle to possibly house a Starbucks or a Dollarama?

Come on people!!!  Are we so blind that we do not see that which we are plowing into oblivion? 

Saint John is the oldest incorporated city in Canada. Saint John is a emporium of architecture that cannot be duplicated or replaced.  

Yes, New Brunswick and Saint John may not be the monetary wealthiest sector of Canada, but it’s beauty is being destroyed for the mere fact that it cannot afford to keep.

That is the equivalent of getting rid of your grandparents because they are too costly to maintain. 

There are many viable usage for this magnificent structure.  It could easily be transformed into a playhouse and be as successful as similar venues currently being used in cities like Toronto and Montreal.

If I were financially able, I would gladly finance such a thing.

I was born and raised in Saint John and unfortunately I left many years ago to live in Toronto. NOT ONE DAY IN MY LIFE DO I NOT REFLECT ON THE GREATNESS OF THE BUILDINGS OF SJ.  I have instilled within my three sons the pride I have for being born and spending my childhood in a city where you can walk past many, many fine buildings that many of which are older than Canada itself.

As a very proud Saint Johner I beg of someone  or some organization to stop this architectural rape. 

If I were to win a lottery I would gladly purchase and find away to make this wonderful structure a beacon of Saint John pride.

I must go wipe my tears for I cannot comprehend how everyone is sitting in Tim Horton’s having coffee and watching as all these iconic structures are being replaced with vacant lots.

Very disheartening to say the least. Very much so…

About LightHouse Dann Verner

I am a 'Lighthouse' - I spread the message of Peace, Love, Forgiveness and Light to all whom may overstand the necessity of becoming one with each other and all the Gods have laid at our feet.
This entry was posted in Architecture, History, life, Politics, society, spiritual and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

